top of page

The Twelve Dates of Christmas: "Worst Christmas Book Ever"


"The Twelve Dates of Christmas," seems cute, right? Nope. This book was just eek. I can't even begin to explain, but nonetheless, it was CUTE!


Aww, stop buttering me up. Just stop.


Okay, so, first things first. (I AM THE REALEST, REALEST) Sorry, I'm getting carried away lol.

Anyway, I'm pretty sure we all know I'm a sucker for romances and I just had to read this book in celebration of the holiday season, however, it was disappointing. Obviously, Jenny Bayliss is trying to make me forget my anger & hatred toward most of this book by sobering me up at the end with the squee-worthy, magical ending. But. I have not forgotten, so nice try, Jenny, but sorry!


Now. What was wrong with this book? Let me tell you, a LOT of things were wrong. They weren't wrong, I guess, but they just made the book unenjoyable. Let's rant!


I found that the author was trying to get rid of the dates and “force” Matt and Kate to be together. There was always one reason or another why she couldn’t be with them. Oh, he doesn’t want kids, oh my “boyfriend” threatened him, oh he’s my secret lover’s girlfriend’s ex-husband, etc. Like c’mon, stop being lazy. It was obvious from the beginning that she was going to end up with Matt, because of these lousy ways to get rid of the dates one by one, it made some of them excruciatingly boring and I just wanted to THROW this book out the window. However, my laptop wouldn’t appreciate that, and neither would I, haha. My favorite date was Drew because he was so nice and is the definition of the GBF.


Secondly, there was just a ton of bullcrap in this book and it. drove. me. nuts!!! My wonderful buddy, Brinley, told me that the second half of this book was just a mess and I 100% agree and understand what she means by that now. BECAUSE the first half of this story was cute, lovey-dovey whatnot, however, the second half was a total trainwreck and mostly B-O-R-I-N-GGGGG. It took me way too long to read this and I am not impressed.


I was super disappointed with this one because I had high hopes and the cover is super cute, but looks may be deceiving, as this book so "wonderfully" proved. And the only possibility of the dates for Kate, was Drew, the gay lover. Unfortunately, that obviously didn't work out because Kate doesn't have a penis.


Now, let's get to the important part, shall we? I feel that I covered where this book done messed up and where it became rat dung. I also said how this book had a cute ending. Indeed, it did. BUT...There's always a BUT...I do NOT recommend this book to anyone looking for a sweet holiday romance because it just wasn't the tea and will absolutely NOT satisfy your needs. Now go read 10 Blind Dates or Snow In Love with your earl grey tea because I'm sure those books will be much better than this crap.


Still cute, though! <(*-*)>


-Becca da EEK! Queen<3



GoodReads~Becca da Romance Queen ll Instagram~@beccalovesbooks123 ll Other Blog~Becca's Bookish Blog

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page